Open vision bar
Miss Simpson   

Contact Info:

West Jessamine Middle School
1400 Wilmore Road
Nicholasville, KY 40356
school: 859-885-2244

I am a native Floridian; however, I feel much more at home here in Kentucky.  Growing up, my family traveled to Kentucky at least one time each year to visit my maternal grandparents.  Except for the motion sickness of the curvy roads, I loved those trips.  When it was time to plan for college, I made a trip to Asbury University (it was called "Asbury College" in my day).  I knew at once that I had found my college.

I graduated from Asbury with a B.A. in psychology and moved to Orlando to work as a live-in nanny while I figured out which graduate school to attend and what area in psychology to pursue.  During the 6 years it took me to determine which route to take, I finished my 18-month stint as a nanny and worked the rest of the time as a customer service representative where I programmed voice mail and phone systems.  I was also volunteering in the youth group at my church and as a big sister to a young lady in a group home.  I enjoyed my volunteer work a considerable amount more than my job and decided it was time for me to get some training to make working with young people my profession.

I headed back up to Kentucky to attend Asbury Seminary, where I earned a master's degree in counseling.  I worked for Bluegrass Regional Mental Health and Mental Retardation Board, Inc. counseling children who were demonstrating some mild to severe behavior problems.  Additionally, I worked with the families of those children to increase appropriate consequences, effective communication, and positive coping skills.  Many times I worked with children in their school setting, since this is where many behavior difficulties manifest.

I loved working with families; however, I was frustrated that I didn't have as much time with the children as I felt I needed in order to make a lasting difference.  I returned to Asbury University to pursue a master's degree in learning and behavior disorders so that I could work with students as a special education teacher. 

I am in my 14th year of teaching and can't imagine doing anything else!  I love the challenges (most of the time) and love to see the light in a kids' eyes when they finally "get" it!
My Calendar
View Events/Assignments for 
Upcoming Activities
No Events or Assignments