Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Welcome new Board Members!


The elections have concluded, with some familiar names as well as some new faces in legislative and governmental positions.   As you likely know, five Jessamine County Board of Education members are elected to four-year terms, which expire in alternating years, and this election cycle two of our board seats were on the ballot.  Board members are crucial to the operation of school districts, elected to represent the community's voice in the education of our youth, guiding policy, priorities, direction, and spending.  

Please join me in welcoming our two new board members, Denise Adams, in district four and Steve Scrivner, representing district five.  Serving as a board member often involves personal sacrifice, requiring not only a substantial time commitment, but also a responsibility to ensure the educational welfare of students.  I want to thank our newest members for their willingness to serve the students and families of our community.  I look forward to working in partnership with them, and with the other members continuing their service, Chair Amy Day, Debra Hood, and Bobby Welch, to ensure that all JCS students succeed and reach their full potential.  

I would also like to express my utmost appreciation to our outgoing board members for their leadership and contributions to our district.  Vice Chair Hallie Bandy, with eight years on the board, and John Branscum, with four years of service, are not only champions for public education, but also for our community, and most importantly, our students. 

Thanks also to our district family for your unwavering commitment to our students and for always putting their needs first.  It is an extremely exciting, yet also challenging, time for us in public education and I am proud to work alongside you as we remain focused on what's best for our students.  

Back to School News      Print News Article